Goodbye Summer

Summer is officially over for me, even if it’s still over 27 degrees most days here in Ankara. Yes I am back in Ankara after a wonderful summer, which certainly had a rocky start. Alas my break – from real life and the blog – is over and I am back in Turkey about to start my second (and last!) year for my master’s degree. I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and damn that feels good.

Those who follow me on Facebook and Instagram definitely saw snippets of my summer. The first half of my summer, as you all know, was spent in Mauritius after which I headed to Europe, most specifically Germany for my most amazing summers yet, mostly due to the company.

Some old and some new

Germany must be my favourite country ever. I fell in love with it the first time I was there back in 2010 and then again last year when I revisited. Since then, I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been back. One of my most favourite places must be the English Gardens in Munich so of course that’s where I ended up when I was there.

Good weather? It's sun bathing time at the English Gardens!
Good weather? It’s sun bathing time at the English Gardens!

After two years of promising one of the closest people to me to visit her, made it to Heidelberg and it did not disappoint!

A slightly foggy Heidelberg Castle
A slightly foggy Heidelberg Castle

However, most of my time was spent in some Bavarian cities. Eager to tick some other places from my list, we also went to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and Regensburg. I also finally went to Bamberg, where I’ve been wanting to go since last Christmas. We however did not make it till Passau so I’ll save that for next time!

On the Romantic Road: a stop at the fairytale-like town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber
On the Romantic Road: a stop at the fairytale-like town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Little Venice in Bamberg
Little Venice in Bamberg
Pretty Regensburg. And also one of the most vegan friendly cities I've come across.
Pretty Regensburg. And also one of the most vegan friendly cities I’ve come across.

Whilst I am a city girl at heart, it was quite nice to have a break from the city trips, which is where our trip to Bastei, near Dresden came in handy. Breathtaking.

Bastei: rock climbing mecca in Germany
Bastei: rock climbing mecca in Germany
Bastei: bridge with a view
Bastei: Bridge with a view

I also had a (reluctant) trip to Nuremberg Zoo which at the end of the day wasn’t so bad. Except for the dolphin pool. That was heart wrenching. Yep.

A very hungry tiger.
A very hungry Siberian tiger.

An Italian summer

It was however a bit cloudy and rainy most of the time in Deutschland and I was worried that I had missed the sunny and warm summer that I had been impatiently waiting for. But Rome quickly rectified that.

The colosseum in all its glory. At least what's left of it. For some reason, I imagined it much bigger.
The colosseum in all its glory. At least what’s left of it. For some reason, I imagined it much bigger.
The Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II
The Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II. Rome IS beautiful.

And the best for the last

But after exceedingly boiling Rome (yes I’m never satisfied!), the cool weather of the Czech Republic was quite a warm welcome. I fell in love with Prague and I seriously cannot wait to go back there again.

Trying to catch sunset on Charles Bridge, Prague.
Trying to catch sunset on Charles Bridge, Prague.
So how about lunch in Carlsbad?
So how about lunch in Carlsbad?
Obligatory trip to the bone church in Kutna Hora!
Obligatory trip to the bone church in Kutna Hora!

So what now?

Well I’m officially back in Turkey and I’ll be here for a while. Between my master’s research and German classes (yes I’m back to that), there’s not much time to do anything else at the moment although I’m sure I’ll squeeze some things here and there. I still have a hangover from this summer’s travels and it’s gonna take a while to get used to life back in Ankara although getting back to work immediately must have been the best thing for a reality check. Not that it’s boring. Just yesterday, I was working as a Turkish-French interpreter at a roller coaster “showroom” so life here is definitely not as bad as it sounds.

I've worked in far worse places
I’ve worked in far worse places
2 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer”

  1. I loved Rothenburg too! Cant believe how much you traveled… but you live in Turkey so you are officially not allowed to complain about summer being over… not to a Russian at least 😉

    1. Haha! That is quite true! We’re still having 25+ weather although that’s gonna change as from next week. But I could always go south if I wanted to extend that (thanks but no thanks). I have to admit I was quite spoiled this summer. Still trying to digest everything and it’s been almost a week since I came back!

Leave a Reply

