Postcard from: Girne, Northern Cyprus

IMG_0499

I only just came back from a walk by the harbour to watch the sunset after having spent most of the morning and afternoon working on the farm doing very physical but quite satisfying manual labour. This is currently my second day here in Girne, or Kyrenia which is how the Greeks call it. I only reached yesterday afternoon and it already feels as if I have been here for weeks. I’m doing a ‘workaway’ here, at the GROL Garden located right in the little harbour town of Girne. Our day starts at 8 am, basically a lie-in when you consider life on a farm, and we usually finish around 3 pm. All the volunteers take turns in cooking lunch and dinner; I’m quite happy I’ve still got a few days until I’m let loose in the kitchen. As much as I like cooking, it’s always stressful when you’re cooking for others. It’s amazing though that all the food is strictly vegan so I’m having quite fun learning new recipes from others.

Life here on the farm is unfolding quite nicely, I have to say.

Until next time.

You can follow my adventures here on: Facebook or Twitter.

7 thoughts on “Postcard from: Girne, Northern Cyprus”

Leave a Reply

