Hello 2015!

January is not over yet so I suppose it’s not too late to wish you all a Happy New Year. It’s hard to believe that it’s already been a week since I came back from Germany, nearly two weeks since the year started. And what have I done since? Lie in bed and eat cookies while doing a marathon of The Big Bang Theory. With nearly -20 degrees and constant snow outside, it seemed like that best thing to do at the time. Not that I regret it but my waistline probably will soon – we don’t always see eye to eye. Add in the mega feasting that took place in Deutschland and it’ll be screaming for help very soon. With the coldest days hopefully over in Ankara, it’s time for me to get back into the groove again, may that be work, studies, travelling.

Ankara -outside my window
Ankara -outside my window

2015-01-10 13.16.43
Winter-y Ankara

I’ve been having a go at some crafting and made cute little flags for my wall map of Turkey. I have to say I’m quite happy with the outcome although Starbucks was probably not as thrilled with my mess as I was.

2015-01-08 17.12.10
Flagging my map.
2015-01-08 15.18.16
Making Starbucks a little bit more interesting.

In other news, I’m also going to Cyprus in two weeks. Whilst I’ll mostly be on the Turkish side, I’m hoping to be able to cross the border to go to the Greek side on some days. If anyone has any tips or ideas on where to go, it’ll be very helpful. Two and a half week seems reasonable to explore this tiny island – and also escape the horrible winter of Ankara. It is at these moments that I’m reminded of the fact that I’ve lived on a tropical island for more than half of my life.

Wishing for some sunshine.

2 thoughts on “Hello 2015!”

  1. Wow, seems like most parts of Turkey are more wintery than Germany at the moment. I heard it even snowed in Izmir (!). Where in Germany did you go? Cute flags, by the way.

Leave a Reply

