Liebster Award

Thanks Chelsea from Adventures of an Expat for nominating me for the Liebster Award! It definitely was fun and a bit brain-wracking as well to do this and I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

Here is the set of rules for your blog post to accept the award:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget”.

3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.

5. Nominate 5 blogs that you feel deserve the award, which have a less than 1000 followers.

6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. List these rules in your post. (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

11 Random Facts about Me:

1. I speak 5 ½ languages.

2. I can sometimes act as an annoying know-it-all. Yup, I’m one of those people.

3. I can’t drive and still can’t muster up the courage to get driving lessons. For one, I would never trust myself behind the wheels of a car.

4. I would rather take a bus than a plane. Not only something nearly always happen when I fly, it’s the only time when I’m not rushing to do something. I like keeping busy.

5. Or rather, I do not know how to deal with free time. So I just tend to hibernate (and make my close ones worry because of the lack of communication) when I do have some.

6. I do better with cardinal points than your normal left-right directions. In my case, there’s left and then the other left.

7. I tend to lose my hearing when I remove my glasses – don’t ask.

8. Some people stress eat. I read chicklits with specific themes I’m never going to say out loud.

9. The first book I ever read on my own was about dinosaurs, when I was about four years old. My father thought it was too challenging for me. I proved him wrong.

10. I have had a massive crush on Mr. Darcy (from Pride and Prejudice, if you didn’t know) since I was 13 and more than 10 years later, I still embarrassingly do.

11. I tend to break the most important news to people in the middle of the night. Seems to be the most effective as well as dramatic. And I’d rather have a good sleep rather than staying all night up waiting when I can finally tell people my said important news.

Answers to the 11 questions from my nominator:

1. What is your favorite place to be in the world?
Anywhere I can call home (there are quite a few of these now). Where I can be wear pyjamas and stay in bed all day, in true trampy style.

2. Who do you look up to and why?
My parents. They’re the most amazing people I’ve ever met, in their own different ways. They’ve supported me my whole life and I know I can always turn to them whenever I want. I am who I am because of them.

3. Where is the next place you hope to travel to?
I’ve got a few on the list but hopefully Iran in the near future.

4. What is your favorite food?
Rice and lentils. It’s a Mauritian thing and always the first thing I ask for when I’m home.

5. What is your dream job?
Something environment-related, away from the buzz of the city and most importantly, people. Bonus points if I get the flexibility to travel.

6. Where do you feel at peace in the world?
Anywhere I can sit down and drink my coffee whilst contemplating life in general.

7. What is a book everyone should read at least once in their life?
The Count of Monte Cristo. Whilst I’m not eager to start it afresh again, this book remains one of my favourites.

8. How many siblings do you have and where do you fall within them (youngest, oldest, only…)?
Only child here. Yes I’m spoiled rotten.

9. Explain a time you were put out of your comfort zone and what you learned after.
I’m always trying to be out of my comfort zone, it’s only then that I can learn my own limits. So far, it has been enlightening.

10. Are you religious and/or spiritual?
I’m not the most religious person but I know what I believe in and what I don’t.

11. If you could go back to school, what would you study or if you are in school, what are you studying?
I’m about to start a Masters in Geography.

11 questions for my nominees:

1. What was the thing that made you happy today?

2. If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be?

3. If you could take three items and one person with you to an isolated island, what and who would they be?

4. What is that one thing on your bucket list you think you’d never cross off?

5. Describe your ideal vacation spot.

6. Which period in history do you wish you could go back to, and why?

7. What’s your favourite time of the day?

8. Which book or film has marked you the most?

9. What is the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done?

10. What’s the craziest thing that has happened to you during your travels?

11. If you could change one thing in your past, what would it be?

And the nominees are (drum rolls please):

aNadventures

Marko Koko

Wandering Cows

The Great Escape

Jocie with a side of Swede

One thought on “Liebster Award”

Leave a Reply

