Chasing some sunshine

Both life and the weather is being a bit whimsical at the moment. I was supposed to be going to Thessaloniki this weekend but due to some problems, our plans fell through at the last minute. So I thought the hiking trip at a reserve near Ankara which I had been planning for a while could be brought forward but the weather wasn’t as agreeable as my hiking partner and I. While I don’t usually mind some rain, I would rather not get caught in a thunderstorm when outdoors – Central Anatolia is definitely a bit depressing at the moment.Β Instead,Β I thought I wouldΒ go explore south west Turkey instead, the weather is definitely more promising in that part of the country for now. On the list this weekend: Ephesus and Pamukkale!

Ephesus is an ancient Greek city built in the 10th century BC. It is considered to be one of the most classical metropolis in Europe and more than 80% of it has yet to be unearthed. It also where the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is situated. Ephesus also has some religious association and retains the status of one of the seven churches in Asia in the Book of Revelations.

Pamukkale, a UNESCO World Heritage site is famous for its white calcite travertines, above which whatever remains of Hierapolis, once a Roman and Byzantine city. I’m spending two days in Pamukkale so I’m hoping to be able to see some other sites around.

Bring on this weekend!

Leave a Reply

